On Saturday, May 18th at 1:00 pm, attend a ribbon cutting ceremony for the newly reconstructed flume and catwalk. Refreshments and tours of the Gristmill are available after the ceremony. For additional information, please call 908-879-5463.
The stretch of the Black River on which the Cooper Gristmill is situated is well-suited for the operation of water-powered mills. In the 1760′s, Isaiah Younglove began a flour milling operation that lasted until 1788. Over the years, the mill went through several owners, with the present mill being built in 1826 by Nathan Cooper.
Visitors to Cooper Gristmill can watch the massive water wheel power shafts and gears that turn 2,000-pound mill stones as the master miller – in period costume – explains the history of the mill and the vibrant community once called Milltown.
The Cooper Gristmill is owned and operated by the Morris County Park Commission. If you would like to learn more about the Morris County Park Commission, visit www.morrisparks.net.
The Friends of Fosterfields and Cooper Gristmill thank volunteer and photographer Ralph Iacobelli for his generous contribution of professional quality photographs taken on site at Fosterfields and Cooper Gristmill.